This “Foodie” Tries an Elimination Diet

Image
Stocking the fridge

So, I know it seems a bit strange to come back to my blog after all this time and not be talking about a delicious food and drink adventure.  But, as I’ve been researching and reading in preparation for starting an Elimination Diet, I felt a need to share my experience.  From one blog and webpage to the next, it can become very overwhelming.  What can I eat? What can’t I eat?  How long do I need to stick to this super restricted diet (read, “when can I drink wine again, please?!”), and will I possibly be able to make food that doesn’t taste like cardboard?

Well, I hope my blog doesn’t add to the confusion.  If you come across this post in your search, I just want to say – don’t stress about it.  While trying to cleanse our bodies with our diets of clean and “safe” foods, it’s also important to cleanse our minds by not adding unnecessary stress.  Take all that you find, look at the big picture, and make it work for you.  Also, be sure you find people who are doing the Diet for the same reason as you.  If people are trying this diet purely as a cleanse, they may be able to eat far more foods (i.e. dairy, bell peppers, whole grains) than those who are doing the diet to shed light on possible allergens or illness triggers.

For me personally, I deal with almost weekly migraines.  And, long story short, I’ve discovered many of my triggers, but know that there are still many answers that I need to live a happier, healthier life.  This Elimination Diet is the next step on my quest for those answers.

So… finally, now that I’m committed… how can I make this experience anything short of miserable?  Over the next few weeks, I’ll share my struggles, and hopefully triumphs, in giving this thing a go.  

To start, here’s what I’m eliminating.

Citrus Fruits (orange, grapefruit, lemon, lime, etc)

Nightshade Vegetables (Tomatoes, Eggplants, Potatoes)

      * sweet potatoes are OK! (Yay!!)

      *see http://www.phoenixhelix.com/2013/06/23/nightshade-free-survival-guide/ for a great resource

All Starches except Brown Rice and Buckwheat (no Wheat, Corn, Barley, Rye, Oats, etc)

Legumes

All Animal Protein except Fish, Turkey, Chicken, and Lamb

All Dairy

All Oils except Olive Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Coconut Oil

All Beverages except Water and Herbal Tea

Corn (which is in EVERYTHING these days)

Soy (speaking of being in everything…)

Spices and Condiments except Salt, Pepper, Fresh Herbs and Spices are OK

All Sweeteners

 

I know, right?!?!

 

Now, some people suggest you stick to this extreme diet for as long as 3 weeks, though most I find say that a solid week is enough. Needless to say, I’m starting with a week, and we’ll see how it goes after that. 

After a week, I’ll reintroduce one potential allergen/trigger (i.e. nightshades or dairy) for a whole day, then go back to the clean diet for two days and see how I feel.  Then I’ll introduce a second trigger for a day, and then back to the clean diet for two days.  I’ll continue this until I’ve tested all triggers, and hopefully discover something along the way.

So… here goes nothing. 

LifeIs4Tasting… I hope

**I want to be sure to say that, as I’ve been doing my research, I’ve found many resources linking me to many different Elimination Diets.  I’m taking what appears to be the most sound information from those different resources and making this diet work for me.  I am not a doctor or an expert, just someone sharing my own experience.  By no means take anything that I say as medical advice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

