What They Say Is True

Though many of the sources that I read disagreed on many technicalities of the Elimination Diet, they almost all suggested one truth.

 

Day 1: Won’t be too bad.  It’s a time of adjustment, but you’ll feel like you’re actually going to succeed at this thing.

Day 2: SUCKS!

 

So what I’m saying is, prepare yourself, and be ready to push through.  

Day 1 really is OK.  I discovered an AMAZING salad dressing (nourishingmeals.com) that I will continue to make even after completing the Elimination Diet.

ImageGreen Apple Salad Dressing
1 green apple, cored (Granny Smith)
1/2 cup filtered water
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 to 4 cloves garlic
1 to 2-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled
Sea salt, to taste

 

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until very smooth and creamy. Add salt to taste and blend again.
 
I made a green salad with “safe” veggies and fruits (cucumbers, carrots, onion, blueberries, etc), pan-seared a small piece of salmon, and added some of the apple dressing. YUM!!  The best part is, I made it all the night before, and it was fantastic the next day.  
 
TIP: When in doubt, do as much slicing and dicing the night before.  Also, left-overs always make a great lunch.  This diet is going to have you feeling like you’re cooking/doing dishes ALL the time.
 
Dinner on the other hand… not so much a success.  I realized I could make pesto on the diet (brilliant!), so I tried baking chicken breasts with the pesto.  Now, I didn’t throw it out or anything, but it was certainly nothing to write home about.  I’m seeing that it’s going to be a struggle to figure out ways to make the chicken exciting.  However, it’s something I need to figure out because salmon (and lamb) get expensive, and certainly aren’t something I’m going to be able to eat everyday.  We did chop up the left over chicken and added brown rice and roasted broccoli (stir-fry style) to take for lunch the next day.  And, it was actually considerably better than the dinner version.
 
However, one side dish I made for dinner was life-changingly good.  
(Also from Nourishing Meals)
 
Kale with Red OnionsImage
– 1 to 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil or coconut oil
– 1 small to medium red onion, cut into crescent moons
– 1 large bunch kale, thinly sliced
– Sea salt to taste
 
1. Heat a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add the oil (use coconut oil! Trust me!!) and then the onions and a dash of sea salt which helps draw out moisture and caramelize the onions.
 
2.Sauté onions for 7 to 10 minutes or until browned, and very fragrant. 
3. Add the kale and sauté for 5 to 10 minutes, depending on the tenderness of the kale and desired doneness. You can add a few tablespoons of water, or vegetable broth, to quickly finish the cooking by steaming if desired.
 
4. Season with sea salt to taste. Serve warm. 
 
Cut to Day 2:
If you’re doing this diet to try and understand your migraine triggers, here’s the tough part.  If you have them especially frequently, like I do, the massive shock to your system has a pretty high chance of actually triggering a migraine (or at least have you fighting one) on day two. And yes, I found myself fighting a pretty rough one.  I tried this diet once before and quit because Day 2 and 3 made me feel so lousy. However, this time, I forced myself to stick to the diet – even though all I wanted was buttered noodles – and I’m hoping that this will be the worst of it.  Also, because I knew it was coming, I made sure to have my meds on hand, and was able to mostly keep it at bay.  I pray for you that this is not the case, but just a forewarning so you may be prepared.
 
TIP: Keep some vegetable broth on hand.  It’s a savior when your stomach feels out of sorts on Day 2/Day3. 
 
Here’s hoping that Day 3 leaves me feeling more positive and on the right track!
 
LifeIs4Tasting… veggie broth?
Leave a Reply

