Gallery

I Cheated

fail                            …on my diet.

A quick recap:

Day 4: probably the easiest day by far.  At this point, it felt like we were really getting the hang of it.  And, no lie, I feel like I’m already seeing physical changes.  Now, I know this wasn’t my primary reason for doing this diet, but in my opinion, if I’m going to torture myself in this way, it would be nice to reap some rewards, right?  After just a few days, I can see that puffiness in my face has gone down and I swear to you my stomach is flatter.  Is that possible?  Chances are too, I’m just feeling better about myself, and that reflects how I see myself.  I can be OK with that.

Day 5:  

Was another story.

I cheated.  I couldn’t help myself.  This day was, by far, the hardest mental day so far.  It was Friday.

Duh Duh Duuuuuhhhhh

I spent the entire day at work stewing about the fact that it was going to be a beautiful weekend, and I wouldn’t be able to spend a single moment sitting on a patio enjoying a cocktail.  Now, I know that may seem silly to many people, but to me, it’s something that my husband and I really love to do.  So, yes, I caved.  But, thoughtfully.

Because we’ve made it this far, I really didn’t want to blow it.  So, I was totally OK with keeping all of the big offenders at bay.  I opted for my safest option – a glass of white wine.

And it was marvelous! (Cue the angels)

angels singing

Let me be sure to mention. If you decide to try this Elimination Diet, I’m not saying that you have to cheat.  I’m not even saying that it’s necessarily OK.  I’m just saying, that in order for me personally to stick with the bigger picture of the diet, this little slip was of vital importance.  And, because I allowed myself that little treat, it put me back on track, continuing to do the right thing.  This game is so mental, and you have to be in the right frame of mind or you don’t stand a chance. (Not to mention it saved my coworkers, fellow drivers, and my spouse from my diet-rage…)

So you know what, maybe it was OK.

Time to hop back on the wagon!

LifeIs4Tasting… Just a sip

Leave a Reply

